Making it Work

I often hear people complaining about not being able to stick to their routine or eat healthy while traveling.

I traveled a lot in May–including a trip to an all-inclusive resort in Jamaica!  Rest assured, it CAN be done!

Knowing that I am gearing up to compete soon, I had to take extra care to manage my nutrition and exercise.

First was my trip to Jamaica.  It was a long awaited vacation full of sandy beaches, laying by the pool and spending kid-free time with my hubby.  I do have to admit, I think we both had a bit of a time getting used to not having our phones attached to us and I was a bit nervous about being able to stay on track.  I knew it could be done, though.

I actually found it pretty easy to stay on track.  Before we got there, I went on the resort’s website to scope out the fitness center.  I needed to know if I needed to bring anything particular or if the fitness center was going to meet my needs.  It was actually quit nice.  I had to improvise on a few exercises, but for the most part, I could work out like normal.

It was much easier than anticipated to eat healthy.  There was plenty of fresh fish and fruit.  They served grilled chicken, steak and a wide variety of vegetables.  I COMPLETELY stayed away from the dessert bar and I certainly didn’t consume those pretty drinks with the cute little umbrellas. 🙂

We had a wonderful time!  My husband and I both agreed that had we actually not stayed on our fitness routines and normal healthy eating that we probably would have not felt well and it could have messed up the whole trip.

The other portion of my travels was for work.  I had to stay at a particular hotel.  So, I knew this was going to take some planning.

I knew ahead of time that it had a fitness center.  The fitness center was pretty basic, but it had free-weights at least.  So, I modified my routine so that I could stay on track as close as possible.    Keep in mind, too, that I wasn’t here on vacation.  I was working 10 hour days.  So, I was mentally exhausted when I was done, but I had to keep my bigger picture in mind–my next competition.  If I had a weak moment and thought, “I’m so tired, it’ll be okay to skip today.”  I would remind myself of how it feels to be on that stage when you feel like all of your hard work is paying off.  There’s nothing like the feeling you get from being on that competition stage knowing that you’ve given it your all.

Right off the bat, though, I knew that eating out the entire time wasn’t a smart option.  Prior to my stay, I had visited the hotel’s website to check out the amenities.  To my dismay, they actually didn’t have a refrigerator or a microwave.  Crud.  That put a damper on things.  What’s a girl to do?  Well, I’m usually pretty resourceful (probably because I really don’t like being told “no” or that I can’t do something hee hee), so I came up with a plan.

I planned out my food and pre-cooked my meals.  I froze some of it and loaded it in one of our coolers that keeps food cold for days at a time.  Through out my trip, I used the hotel’s ice maker to refill the ice in the cooler and it kept my food properly refrigerated.

How did I reheat my food without a microwave?  Simple, I brought my food steamer.  It was wonderful.  I could reheat my meat and veggies and was even able to reheat my sweet potatoes.

What about my oatmeal breakfast, you ask?  I used my room’s coffee pot to heat up the water and poured it into my bowl of oats.  It was great!

I felt great the whole trip and didn’t have a hard time getting back to my regular at-home routine like I would have if I hadn’t tried to stay as close to normal as possible.

Did it take some extra preparation? Most certainly.  Was it worth it?  Without a doubt!  You, too, can travel and be on the eve of fitness perfection. Remember, no excuses. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Making it Work

  1. Sean Livingston says:

    Since my Orlando vacation in 2009, my folks and I have actually been following that method of maintaining healthy eating while on vacation. While in the Disney World Resort that year, we found a great hotel called “Bay Lake Tower” that has a refrigerator, microwave, oven, and stove – everything we need to keep our healthy eating intact while vacationing in Florida. It really helps, but I just wish my appetite wasn’t so low every time I come back from a full-day in one of WDW’s theme parks.

    Definitely a helpful blog you’ve written here, Eve! We think alike because I’ve been following the same method long before, haha. Thanks for the great tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

