Why Do I Compete?

I have a friend who is beautiful on the inside and out and recently she decided to train to compete in her first physique competition.

She has been posting her progress on her FB page and even posted her starting pics.

One of her FB “friends” posted a comment that chastised competitors for “hating” who they were prior to competing. This did not sit well with me.

Of course I commented on his comment, but I thought I’d write about it here, as well.

I may not be speaking for all competitors, but I’m sure many share my thoughts.

I did not hate who I was prior to competing. Those who know me, know that I have a pretty healthy self-esteem. Actually, in order to compete, you must have a pretty healthy self-esteem. It takes guts and thick skin to get up on stage in your competition suit.

I simply wanted a challenge. I wanted to see how hard I could push myself. I wanted to see the results of my “experimentation” with training and nutrition.

Contrary to the naysayers I had after being crowned in one of my competitions last year; I’m not looking for validation. When I get up on stage, I’m not solely focused on placing. While that would be great and I’d ultimately love to get my Pro Card, I know that I cannot control the judges’ decisions and cannot predict what they might be looking for that day.

So, I get up on stage to prove to myself that I set a goal and reached it. I focused on pushing myself and enjoyed the journey.

It gives my husband and I something different to focus on and offers a distraction from our normal day-to-day activities. It’s a constant experiment that we get to work together on and see what results we get. We have both learned so much through my competitions about who we are and what makes us tick.

Due to some unusual situations and some setbacks in my physique this year, I haven’t been able to compete yet this season and I’m missing it terribly. My husband even said he’s looking forward to my next competition. Just because my body isn’t ready for the competition stage, does that mean I don’t like who I am right now. Heck no! It just means I need to change my plan of action and continue to stay consistent.

Why do you compete? What challenges do you take on and why?

Leave a Reply

